Skip to content

The Many Masks of Andy Zhou

Regular price $24.49
  • Hardcover
1

Released:

ISBN:

Jack Cheng

“Another beautiful book by Jack Cheng.” —Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe

Creative and brave sixth grader Andy Zhou faces big changes at school and at home in this new novel by the award-winning author of See You in the Cosmos, for fans of When You Trap a Tiger and The Stars Beneath Our Feet


Andy Zhou is used to being what people need him to be: the good kid for his parents and now grandparents visiting from Shanghai, or the helpful sidekick to his best friend Cindy’s rebellious plans and schemes.

So when Cindy decides they should try out for Movement at school on the first day of sixth grade, how can Andy say no? But between feeling out of place with the dancers, being hassled by his new science partner Jameel, and sensing tension between his dad and grandfather, Andy feels all kinds of weird.

Then, over anime, Hi-Chews, and Andy’s lizard-inspired artwork, things shift between him and Jameel, opening up new doors—and also new complications.

No matter how much Andy cares about his friends and family, it’s hard not to feel pulled between all the ways he’s meant to be, all the different faces he wears, and harder still to figure out if any of these masks is the real him.

“A joy and a journey.” —Tae Keller, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Trap a Tiger

“Sincere…Perceptive…Captures the joys and complex anxieties of middle school.” Kirkus

“Beautiful…Recommended for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Nicole Melleby.” —SLJ

“Realistic…Compelling.” —Booklist

“There’s an aching poignancy [that] will resonate with kids.” BCCB

“Andy’s quiet courage and budding artistry have readers cheering him on.” —Paula Yoo, National Book Award longlisted-author of From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry

The Many Masks of Andy Zhou
Drawer Title
Similar Products