Skip to content

In the Case of Heartbreak

Regular price $22.99
Sold out
  • Paperback

Released:

ISBN:

Courtney Kae

With a gorgeous beachfront mansion, salty ocean breeze, steamy nights, and ALL the summertime feels, this funny, sexy queer rom-com is a celebration of summer love, as a cinnamon roll of a pastry chef finds his indie rocker crush suddenly within reach. Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston, Roan Parrish, Alexandria Bellefleur, Ruby Barrett, and Alexis Hall!

Ben has been baking his mother’s cinnamon rolls at the family café for years. He’s been quietly in love with Adam Reed, his musician-slash-mechanic neighbor, for just as long. But Ben’s done waiting behind the pastry case. Despite his fear of failure, he’s entered a make-or-break competition to build his recipes into a national brand. He’s going to take charge of his business instead of nearly tanking the café—again. And he’s going to finally confess his feelings for Adam. ON LIVE TV.

Except his big plans get punched down before they even half-rise. Soon Ben is dashing down the coast to his grandma’s 80th birthday party on the beach, hiding his broken heart in Maywell Bay, California. Sun, sea, and fresh breezes should blow in something new—except they don’t. They blow in Adam Reed, grinning like a pirate and stealing the show as the musical entertainment hired by Grandma for her big bash. Grandma’s signature Heartbreak Tea is the only remedy, and Grandma’s tea could take the paint off a fence.

But there’s a burn of truth along with the booze in his bottle, and Ben has a decision to make. Can he take the sweetness in front of him, and brave the bitterness that comes after? Or is a little sea salt just what this cinnamon roll needs?

Salty cinnamon rolls? Ew. Ben would never.


In the Case of Heartbreak shines in its range—the warmth, peace, and coziness of its charming beachside town setting and the sweetness and sizzle from its dynamic romance between Ben and Adam.“ —Carlyn Greenwald, author of Sizzle Reel

”Like the most delicious cinnamon roll, In the Case of Heartbreak is warm and gooey and the ultimate comfort treat. I devoured this book!" Alicia Thompson, bestselling author of Love in the Time of Serial Killers

Story Locale: The (fictional) small seaside town of Maywell Bay, CA (seaside beach town inspired by Hollywood Beach, CA). Parts of the story also take place in the (fictional) small town of Fern Falls, set in the rugged mountains of California.

In the Case of Heartbreak
Drawer Title
Similar Products